Genre Hopping, It’s Not For Everyone

As I finish my new book titled “Users” I find myself thinking about genre. The Users is a anti hero/super hero/human with powers, whatever you want to call it, series I’ve just started. The last book I wrote was a Steampunk meets Greek Mythology series I call Clockwork Wings: the Chronicles of Icarus, and my first series was an Alternate History Horror novel called Squanto Undead.

Three very different books with three very different genres. It’s what’s known as genre hopping, or what I like to call, having balls.

I find it hard to stick to one genre, because I refuse to let sales be the number one factor or motivation for my storytelling. I’m not saying that this is for everyone or that anyone else should do this. If you’re an author looking to sell books you probably shouldn’t do what I’m suggesting.

But my goals may be different than most authors. I write books for readers who are looking for something different, readers who want something out of the ordinary. At least that’s my hope. My goal is to bring something new and different to the table with every series I write, and I’m not going to do that if I stick to just one genre.

So if you’re like me and you want something different, you may want to join me on this ride, and if you’re an author who’s not afraid to build readers who are into your particular brand of baddassery then you may want to hop genre’s every once and awhile.

If nothing else it’s fun as hell, and I’m willing to bet there are a good amount of readers out there willing to take a chance on hopping genres with you. Bring the excitement, the action and adventure, and the new to every book and the readers will come.

Check out my website at https://primeevilpublishing.squarespace.com

Leave a comment